PACE presentation - January 24th


Alberta, Saskatchewan and Ontario are the only provinces left today  that have a publicly funded Catholic education system in Canada? Catholic Education has existed in Alberta for 158 years. The Constitution Act of 1867 established the roots of Alberta's publicly funded separate schools.

In 1905 (when the province of Alberta was established) section 17 of the Alberta Act provided full rights for separate schools whether the minority faith was Catholic or Protestant.

Manitoba opted out in 1890. Quebec opted out in 1997, and Newfoundland/Labrador had a referendum in 1998 and opted out of publicly funded Catholic Education.

Thanks again for your support of Catholic Education.